Trump Has Me Pre-Mad

A new feeling I’ve never before experienced.

Peter Ramirez
3 min readNov 17, 2020
Photo by Elio Santos on Unsplash

For the first time in my political life, I am pre-mad. Angry over something that will so predictably occur, and upset because I know how I will react.

On January 20th, 2021, President-elect Biden will become President Biden during his inauguration.

However, against a backdrop of a viral surge, it’s unclear how many people will be allowed to attend the service. Given Biden’s resistance to hold mass gatherings or political rallies prior to the election, I doubt there will be encouragement from the Biden administration to pack the D.C. streets.

Trump will likely not be at the Biden Inauguration. Doing so would tacitly acknowledge he lost. It would mean facing failure.

Then, Trump will tweet (or retweet) images of his inaugural crowd vs. Biden’s — and it will anger me.

Trump’s audience fetish is well-documented. Sean Spicer, the first White House Press Secretary, led off his first press briefing with the lie that Trump’s crowd size was the biggest in history. “This was the largest audience ever to witness an inauguration, both in person and around the globe,” he said.

But it wasn’t. Of course it wasn’t.

--

--

Peter Ramirez

political science researcher. former valedictorian. reader/writer. host of “Politics Mostly” podcast.